GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRA PRADESH ABSTRACT

Agriculture & Cooperation Department:- Inclusive and Sustainable Agricultural Development of Andhra Pradesh- Constitution of Committee – Orders - Issued.

AGRICULTURE AND COOPERATION (AGRI.II) DEPARTMENT

G.O.RT.No. 511 Date: 17-09-2014

Read:

ORDER:-

In the State of Andhra Pradesh nearly 62% of population is dependent on Agriculture and allied sectors. Therefore, Agriculture Sector is very important for the livelihood for majority of the people. It has been observed that there are certain problems in agriculture sector and farmers face distress from time to time. The Government is very much concerned about the problems in Agriculture Sector and want to address these issues for the benefits of the Farmers.

2. Therefore, the Government have decided to constitute a Commission to analyze the issues being faced by the farmers / Agriculture Sector and come up with suitable solutions and intervention for increasing farm productivity, farmers income and deal with other issues. The Commission will address all related issues to increase farmers' level. The Government after proper examination, hereby, constitute a Commission on inclusive and sustainable agriculture development of A.P. with the following members. It will also comprehensively address the problems of Tenant Farmers.

1. Prof. R.Radha Krishna, Chairman, CESS	- Chairman
2. Prof. D.Narasimha Reddy, ICSSR National Fellow	- Member
3. Prof. SR Hashim, Former Member, Planning Commission	- Member
4. Prof. Sheila Bhalla, Former JNU Professor	- Member
5. Prof. S.Galab, Director, CESS	- Member
6. Prof. K.Hanumantha Rao, Former Professor, NIRD	- Member
7. Dr. S.L.Shetty, Founder Director, EPW Research Foundation	ı - Member
8. Vice Chancellor, ANGRAU	- Member
9. Director General, NIRD	- Member
10. Prl. Secretary, Rural Development	- Member
11. Prl. Secretary, Agriculture	-Member Secretary

Special Invitees:

- 1. Prof. E.Revathi, CESS
- 2. Dr. K.Kareemulla, NAARM
- 3. Dr. Parthasaradhy, ICRISAT
- 4. Dr. T.Haque, CDS, New Delhi
- 5. Dr. J. Venkateswarlu, Retired Scientist (Dry Land Agriculture)
- 6. Prof. S.Indrakant, CSD, Hyderabad
- 7. Prof. Kailash Saraph, SR Sankaran Chair Professor
- 8. Chief General Manager, NABARD Regional Office, Hyderabad.

The terms of reference for the Committee are as follows:

- 1. To review the present policies and programmes of Agricultural Development in its totality in Andhra Pradesh and suggest institutional and technological interventions to accelerate productivity and ensure profitability of agriculture while ensuring ecological security with a view to promote Inclusive Growth;
- 2. To examine the issues of indebtedness, inadequate access of credit to tenant farmers, conflict of interests between owner cultivators and tenant farmers and risks in agriculture (natural disasters, and market shocks) contributing to increased vulnerabilities of the farmers and suggest measures for improved access of farmers and tenants to quality credit, build capabilities of farmers and institutions to absorb shocks and manage risks so as to reduce livelihood vulnerabilities of farmers;
- To suggest suitable policies and institutional mechanisms (comprehensive agriculture development with convergence of programmes) to promote broad based agriculture growth with focus on agro based rural industrialization with strong backward and forward linkages; and
- 4. The Committee should suggest measures for the major regions of Andhra Pradesh viz., North coastal Andhra, South Coastal Andhra and Rayala seema since the endowment of resources, nature and intensity of disasters and profiles of the farmers (crop and animal husbandry, fisheries) vary substantially.
- 3. The Commission will submit the report within 6 months. It is also requested to submit interim report on credit flow to tenant farmers within three months.
- 4. The details regarding TA / DA / other financial matters of the members of Commission will be issued separately.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF ANDHRA PRADESH)

ANIL CHANDRA PUNETHA, PRL. SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT.

То

The Chairman, Members and Special Invitees of the Committee.

Copy to:

PS to Hon'ble Chief Minister of AP.

PS to Hon'ble Minister (Agri).

The PS to Chief Secretary to Govt. of AP.

PS to Spl.Chief Secretary, Planning Dept.

PS to Prl. Secretary/Secretary to Govt., Finance Dept./Rural Development Dept.

Agriculture Dept./Finance (IF) Dept.

The Commissioner & Director of Agriculture, AP, Hyderabad.

SF/SC

// FORWARDED BY ORDER//

SECTION OFFICER