## GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRA PRADESH ABSTRACT

Agriculture Department - Seeds - Mega Seed Park, a partnership of Government of Andhra Pradesh and IOWA State University, USA - Constitution of Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) Board - Orders - Issued.

\_\_\_\_\_

## AGRICULTURE & COOPERATION (AGRI.II) DEPARTMENT

<u>G.O.Ms.No.3.</u> <u>Dated: 04.01.2018.</u>

## ORDER:

The vision of the Government is to develop Andhra Pradesh as a Global Seeds Hub and to ensure that quality seeds reach every smallholder farmer in Andhra Pradesh. The State Government, in collaboration with the Seed Science Center of Iowa State University (ISU) proposes to establish a Mega Seed Park (MSP) in Kurnool district. The goal of the Mega Seed Park is to achieve and ensure continued seed security through science-led innovations and policies. The expected outcome is enhancement of Andhra Pradesh's capacity to increase agricultural productivity and help ensure food security through seed security. Mega Seed Park will serve as the platform to accelerate the seed industry and related human capital development in the state and to create wealth for the state as well as the farming community.

- 2. The Government of Andhra Pradesh have entered into a project agreement with Iowa State University of Science and Technology on 05.04.2017 for establishing the Andhra Pradesh Seed Research and Technology Center (APSRTC) and a Mega Seed Park (MSP) in Andhra Pradesh with an aim to evolve as a Global Center of Excellence in seed technology, innovation and business for Asia. This project aims at an Integrated Systems Approach consisting of the flowing thematic areas:
  - 1. Seed Research and Innovations
  - 2. Seed Policy and Regulations
  - 3. Seed Enterprise Development through the Mega Seed Park
  - 4. Global Seed Programs
  - 5. Capacity Strengthening in the Seed Sector.
- 3. Government have decided to form a Special Purpose vehicle (SPV) to speed up the activities of implementation Andhra Pradesh-Iowa State University Mega Seed Park. The Government of Andhra Pradesh have also decided to constitute a Board of Directors with a following Composition:-

01. Chief Minister Chairman

02. Hon'ble Minister for Finance Vice-Chairman

03. Hon'ble Minister for Agriculture Executive Vice-Chairman

**04.** Special Chief Secretary to Government, Member-Convener Agriculture

05. 06. 07. 08.	Secretary to Government Finance VC & Managing Director, APSSDC Vice Chancellor, ANGRAU Vice Chancellor, YSRHU Commissioner of Horticulture	Member Member Member Member Member
		Member
10.	Special Commissioner of Agriculture	
11.	Representative from Seed Men	Members
	Association (State and National)	
12.	Representative from the FPOS	Member
13.	Representative from CMSS	Member
14.	Representative from Progressive Farmers	Member
15.	Representative from NSC	Member
16.	Representatives from Seed Industry	Member
17.	Any other Member/Members Nominated	
	by Chairman	

4. The Special Commissioner of Agriculture, A.P., Guntur shall take necessary action and register a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) Board under relevant provisions of Companies Act.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF ANDHRA PRADESH)

## B.RAJSEKHAR SPECIAL CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT (AGRI) (FAC)

To
The Special Commissioner of Agriculture, A.P., Guntur.
All the above members through the Special
Commissioner of Agriculture, A.P., Guntur.
SF/SC.

//FORWARDED :: BY ORDER//

SECTION OFFICER